IDENTIFICATION AND REGISTRY

IDENTIFICATION AND REGISTRY

The will received in front of a notary is an authentic deed that is registered in the register of wills of the Chambre des notaires du Québec in order to be easily traced to death.

The will indicates the address and marital status of the testator at the time of signing.

You will communicate to the notary the number of the card issued by the RAMQ and the social insurance number of Canada for the register of wills and that of organ donation, if applicable.

REMAINS AND FUNERAL

The will can express the directives relating to the remains (burial, cremation, disposal of ashes, etc.) and funerals (embalming, religious or other ceremony, burial, etc.). In some cases, the whole can be left to the discretion of the spouse or relatives, or the designated liquidator. In other cases, the testator indicates that prior funeral arrangements were made with a funeral society.

ORGAN DONATION AND MEDICAL OR SCIENTIFIC RESEARCH

The will indicates the acceptance or refusal of organ donation and medical or scientific research and the notary may record this choice in the relevant register of the Chambre des notaires, which may be consulted by health professionals in the appropriate circumstances.

SPECIAL LEGACY

By a particular bequest, the will can ensure a transfer, without taxation on the day of death, of the monetary sum held by the deceased under various tax regimes (RRSP, RRIF, TFSA, etc.) for the benefit of the surviving spouse.

Also, a particular legacy may be aimed at a particular object (jewellery, collection, furniture, etc.) to be bequeathed to the person designated by the testator; for example, my tools to my son or my books to my niece, or again, can ensure the payment of a determined monetary sum to a person concerned; for example, $500 to each of my grandchildren.

The acceptance of an estate entails the obligation to return the goods affected by a particular legacy to the person provided for in the will. Thus, the particular legacy must be compulsorily executed by the liquidator.

UNIVERSAL LEGACY

The universal bequest covers all movable or immovable property of the deceased to be given to a person or a group of persons in shares determined by the testator.

ALTERNATIVE DEVOLUTION IN THE CASE OF PREDECEASED

In the event of the death of an heir or a legatee at the time of the opening of the succession, it may be provided that the share or the property may be allocated by representation, or to the children in the first degree of that person deceased before the opening of the succession, or by increment, so that the share attributed to this predeceased person is attributed to other colegatees.

The will can provide for several hypotheses, and this, at several levels of heirs or legatees. Thus, the will of the testator will be executed regardless of the circumstances on the day of his death.

LEGACY TO A MINOR AND TRUSTEE

The will can indicate to the liquidator to preserve in the succession and under its administration the goods devolving to a minor to allocate them at times determined by the testator.

For example, the interest generated by the minor's share may be returned to him on the day he attains his majority then annually and the capital on the day he reaches his twenty-one years or at another time.

Also, a testamentary disposition may authorize the liquidator to remit the sums necessary to meet the minor's basic needs and educational needs.

By the will, a parent may indicate the desired person to take care of a child as a guardian; your notary will discuss this possibility with you if necessary.

LIQUIDATOR

The liquidator, formerly known as the "executor", is the person responsible for settling the estate. He is appointed by the testator, the heirs or a court.

The testator may also provide for alternative choices in the event of incapacity to act of the liquidator appointed by him.

The remuneration or not, the reimbursement of expenses or loss of salary of the liquidator is provided for in the will. The notary can advise you on this matter.

CODICIL

This notarial act aims at modifying a part or a portion of an existing will. For example, withdrawal or addition of a legatee, modification of a legacy or change of the liquidator or a replacement, etc. In the testamentary search carried out following the death, the modified will and its modification by codicil will be revealed to interested parties by the register of wills which includes codicils.

IDENTIFICATION ET REGISTRE

IDENTIFICATION ET REGISTRE

Le testament reçu devant un notaire est un acte authentique qui fait l’objet d’une inscription au registre des testaments de la Chambre des notaires du Québec afin d’être facilement retracé au décès.

Le testament indique l’adresse et l’état civil et matrimonial du testateur au moment de la signature.

Vous communiquerez au notaire le numéro de la carte émise par la RAMQ et le numéro d’assurance sociale du Canada pour le registre des testaments et celui du don d’organes le cas échéant.

DÉPOUILLE ET FUNÉRAILLES

Le testament peut exprimer les directives relatives à la dépouille (ensevelissement, incinération, disposition des cendres, etc.) et aux funérailles (embaumement, cérémonie religieuse ou autre, sépulture, etc.). Dans certains cas, le tout peut être laissé à la discrétion du conjoint ou des proches, ou encore, du liquidateur désigné. Dans d’autres cas, le testateur indique que des arrangements funéraires préalables ont été effectués auprès d’une société funéraire.

DON D’ORGANES ET RECHERCHE MÉDICALE OU SCIENTIFIQUE

Le testament indique l’acceptation ou le refus relatif au don d’organes et à la recherche médicale ou scientifique et le notaire peut consigner ce choix au registre pertinent de la Chambre des notaires qui peut être consulté par les professionnels de la santé dans les circonstances appropriées.

LEGS PARTICULIER

Par un legs particulier, le testament peut assurer un transfert, sans imposition au jour du décès, de somme monétaire détenue par le défunt sous divers régimes fiscaux (REER, FEER, CELI, etc.) au bénéfice du conjoint survivant.

Aussi, un legs particulier peut viser un objet particulier (bijoux, collection, mobilier, etc.) à être légué à la personne désignée par le testateur; par exemple, mes outils à mon fils ou mes livres à ma nièce, ou encore, peut assurer le versement d’une somme monétaire déterminée à une personne visée; par exemple, 500$ à chacun de mes petits-enfants.

L’acceptation d’une succession comporte l’obligation de remettre les biens visés par un legs particulier à la personne prévue par le testament. Ainsi, le legs particulier doit être obligatoirement exécuté par le liquidateur.

LEGS UNIVERSEL

Le legs universel vise l’ensemble des biens mobiliers ou immobiliers du défunt à être remis à une personne ou à un groupe de personnes en parts déterminées par le testateur.

DÉVOLUTION ALTERNATIVE AU CAS DE PRÉDÉCÈS

Au cas du décès d’un héritier ou d’un légataire testamentaire lors de l’ouverture de la succession, il peut être prévu que la part ou que les biens dévolus peuvent être attribués par représentation, ou aux enfants au premier degré de cette personne décédée avant l’ouverture de la succession, ou encore par accroissement, donc que la part attribuée à cette personne prédécédée est attribuée aux autres colégataires.

Le testament peut prévoir plusieurs hypothèses, et cela, à plusieurs niveaux d’héritiers ou de légataires. Ainsi, les volontés du testateur seront exécutées peu importe les circonstances au jour de son décès.

LEGS À UN MINEUR ET TUTELLE

Le testament peut indiquer au liquidateur de conserver dans la succession et sous son administration les biens dévolus à un mineur pour les remettre à des époques déterminées par le testateur.

Par exemple, les intérêts générés par la part du mineur peuvent lui être remis le jour où il atteint sa majorité puis annuellement et le capital le jour où il atteint ses vingt-et-un ans ou à un autre moment.

Aussi, une disposition testamentaire peut autoriser le liquidateur à remettre les sommes nécessaires pour assumer les besoins essentiels du mineur et ses besoins d’éducation.

Par le testament, un parent peut indiquer la personne souhaitée pour prendre soin d’un enfant à titre de tuteur; votre notaire discutera de cette possibilité avec vous le cas échéant.

LIQUIDATEUR

Le liquidateur, autrefois appelé « l’exécuteur testamentaire » est la personne responsable du règlement de la succession. Il est nommé par le testateur, les héritiers ou un tribunal.

Le testateur peut aussi prévoir des choix alternatifs au cas d’incapacité d’agir du liquidateur désigné par lui.

La rémunération ou non, le remboursement de dépenses ou de perte de salaire du liquidateur est prévue au testament. Le notaire pourra vous conseiller à ce sujet.

CODICILLE

Cet acte notarié vise à modifier une partie ou une portion d’un testament existant. Par exemple, retrait ou ajout d’un légataire, modification d’un legs ou changement du liquidateur ou d’un remplaçant, etc. Lors de la recherche testamentaire effectuée suite au décès, le testament modifié et sa modification par codicille seront révélés aux intéressés par le registre des testaments qui inclut les codicilles.
Version: 2.8.1