INFORMATION FOR THE PURCHASER OR ITS MANDATARY IN CONNECTION WITH THE ACQUISITION OF A BUILDING

INFORMATION FOR THE PURCHASER OR ITS MANDATARY IN CONNECTION WITH THE ACQUISITION OF A BUILDING

For the buyer, why does the acquisition of a building require two (2) meetings with the notary?

  • The first meeting is to implement the financing of the purchase and to receive the down payment and any other relevant monetary amount needed, namely, the amounts possibly due to the seller for the distributions agreed by the parties and the notary's fees.
  • At the same time, the notary can answer all your questions about the transaction and guide you on various aspects.
  • The second meeting is to read the deed of sale to the parties as well as to collect all signatures.
  • Down payment: This must be paid by bank draft or electronic transfer made by you or your financial institution directly to the trust account of the notary.
  • Distribution: The tender offer generally stipulates that the notary must make all the distributions relating in particular to the property and special taxes, to the fuel reserves as well as to the income and expenses related to the building.

Does the notary have to verify the certificate of location of the building covered by the transaction?

  • At the first meeting, the notary discusses with you the certificate of location and, if applicable, communicates any irregularities mentioned by the land surveyor. In such a case, the seller must correct the situation or take out, at his own expense, an insurance covering the irregularity complained of for the entire time the buyer is the owner of the immovable described.
  • In the event that the certificate of location is not available on the day of the transaction, the seller must make formal commitments and guarantee them to the notary in order to regularize this situation.

Can the notary deduct money from the transaction?

  • Yes, the notary may make a deduction already provided for in the offer to purchase or agreed otherwise by all parties involved in the transaction. This may include work to be completed on the building or another commitment related to the transaction.

Does the notary have to verify a condominium syndicate during a transaction of a co-ownership?

  • Yes, the notary must verify the regularity of the co-ownership syndicate with the REQ and send a questionnaire to the syndicate manager himself, in particular to ensure certain financial aspects and insurance coverage of the building.

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PARENTS OF YOUNG CHILDREN:

The purchase of a property is a moment of importance. It is therefore strongly suggested that you attend your appointments without your young children, so that you can have all your attention and concentration to assimilate the information given and discuss topics related to your real estate transaction.

RENSEIGNEMENTS POUR L’ACHETEUR OU SON MANDATAIRE RELATIFS À L’ACQUISITION D’UN IMMEUBLE

RENSEIGNEMENTS POUR L’ACHETEUR OU SON MANDATAIRE RELATIFS À L’ACQUISITION D’UN IMMEUBLE

Pourquoi l’acquisition d’un immeuble nécessite pour l’acheteur deux (2) rencontres avec le notaire?

  • La première rencontre vise à mettre en œuvre le financement de l’achat et à recevoir la mise de fonds et toute autre somme monétaire pertinente nécessaire, à savoir, les sommes possiblement dues au vendeur pour les répartitions convenues par les parties et les honoraires du notaire.
  • Aussi par la même occasion, le notaire peut répondre à toutes vos questions relatives à la transaction et vous guider sur divers aspects.
  • La deuxième rencontre vise la lecture de l’acte de vente aux parties ainsi que la réception de toutes les signatures.
  • Mise de fonds : Celle-ci doit obligatoirement être versée par traite bancaire ou virement électronique opéré par vous ou votre institution financière directement au compte en fidéicommis du notaire.
  • Répartitions : L’offre d’achat prévoit généralement que le notaire doit faire toutes les répartitions relatives notamment aux taxes foncières et spéciales, aux réserves de combustibles ainsi qu’aux revenus et dépenses afférents à l’immeuble.

Le notaire doit-il faire la vérification du certificat de localisation de l’immeuble visé par la transaction?

  • Lors de la première rencontre, le notaire discute avec vous du certificat de localisation et, le cas échéant, vous communique toute irrégularité mentionnée par l’arpenteur-géomètre. Dans un tel cas, le vendeur doit corriger la situation ou souscrire, à ses frais, une assurance couvrant l’irrégularité dénoncée pour tout le temps où l’acheteur est propriétaire de l’immeuble visé.
  • Dans le cas où le certificat de localisation n’est pas disponible au jour de la transaction, le vendeur doit souscrire des engagements formels et les garantir auprès du notaire afin de régulariser cette situation.

Le notaire peut-il retenir une somme monétaire provenant de la transaction?

  • Oui, le notaire peut faire une retenue déjà prévue à l’offre d’achat ou convenue autrement par toutes les parties impliquées à la transaction. Celle-ci peut viser des travaux à compléter sur l’immeuble ou un autre engagement relié à la transaction.

Le notaire doit-il faire des vérifications visant un syndicat de copropriété lors d’une transaction d’une copropriété?

  • Oui, le notaire doit vérifier la régularité du syndicat de copropriété auprès du REQ et transmettre lui-même un questionnaire au gestionnaire du syndicat pour notamment s’assurer de certains aspects financiers et de la couverture d’assurance du bâtiment.

AVIS D’IMPORTANCE AUX PARENTS DE JEUNES ENFANTS :

L’achat d’une propriété est un moment d’importance. Il est donc fortement suggéré de vous présenter à vos rendez-vous sans vos jeunes enfants, et ce, afin que vous puissiez avoir toute votre attention et votre concentration pour assimiler les renseignements donnés et discuter des sujets relatifs à votre transaction immobilière.
Version: 2.8.1